Stations of the Cross


Every Friday in Lent, all of us have the opportunity to attend and participate in the Stations of the Cross. The Stations, which follow Jesus on his journey to the Cross, help to focus us on the reality of the sacrifice that he offered for our salvation.  The slow, methodical movement from the first station of the passion to the fourteenth and final station gives us an opportunity to place ourselves inside the events.  In doing so, we feel the weight of the cross, the pain of our Lord and the suffering of the Blessed Mother.  It takes us beyond ourselves.

If you can get to church and participate in the Stations, you will be blessed by the experience.  If you are unable to do so, there are a number of videos that you can access on youtube that you can use for meditation.  I’ve included one below that I like very much.


This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stations of the Cross

  1. LeeSurkin says:

    Righteousness and love, law and grace, life and death, as well as time and eternity all intersect at the cross; displaying a divine wisdom that staggers the imagination and leads the humble heart to bow in thankful adoration. To understand the cross of Christ is to understand the heart of God toward a fallen world He wants to save.

    Our tendency in the midst of suffering is to turn on God. To get angry and bitter and shake our fist at the sky and say God, you don’t know what it’s like! You don’t understand! You have no idea what I’m going through. You don’t have a clue how much this hurts. The cross is God’s way of taking away all of our accusations, excuses, and arguments.
    The cross is God taking on flesh and blood and saying, “Me too.”

  2. says:

    Well said, Lee!

  3. Rosary Mart says:

    The Stations of the Cross allow us to reflect upon Jesus’ suffering, death, and resurrection. I totally respect it and this blog is great. I am looking forward to read more from you. Thank You and God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *